I’ve Lived out of Airbnbs for 15 Months. Here’s What the Lifestyle Is Really Like

The good, the bad, and the surprise epiphanies along the way

Charlie Brown
5 min readDec 14, 2021
Photo by Sergei Gussev on Unsplash

When I began to live out of Airbnbs full-time 15 months ago, I thought it was simply a transactional process. I pay money and in return, I get a place to sleep.

As it turns out, living in other people’s apartments is more thought-provoking than it first seems. It’s like being given a little window into people, their lives, what matters to them, and their culture.

Not only that, the whole process can teach you more about yourself and your priorities than a permanent home in your own country ever could.

The one thing it is not is just a place to lay your head at night…

It’s a window into what people prioritize in their own life

I call it the stick blender effect.

If you are somewhere like Croatia, you will never find a stick blender in the kitchen. Croatian cuisine just doesn’t call for one.

In Spain, it’s stick blender city. I mean, how else are you expected to make the traditional sauce for meatballs or the bravas sauce for your patatas? What about romesco sauce? What kind of Catalan kitchen…

--

--

Charlie Brown

Writer of opinions. Wine & food pro. Editor of Rooted, a boostable Medium food & drink pub. Niche-avoidant. Also at thesaucemag.substack.com